First Sunday in the Happy Ward!

Olá de Bragança!

So since I know you’re all just DYING to here about how Bragança is… it’s awesome! It’s also way far from everyone, pretty sure it’s actually the furthest you can be from Belém without having to take a plane. It was a pretty sweet bus ride though, taking a single lane road though the forest that had small villages every hour or so. Really pretty! We’re an hour and a half from the next closest area of missionaries, and 3 and a half hours from the zone leaders. Which also can be translated as meaning Elder Maughan will only receive letters/packages once a month at best, maybe once a transfer.

So turns out that the area in fact didn’t get whitewashed, so my companion is Elder C! He’s actually only got 3 more months to go in the mission, pretty veteran! He’s been in the area 4 months now, and things have been going super well. Tons of ward support, many baptisms and people investigating the church here in Bragança. He’s smart and funny, and I think it’s going to be a pretty great transfer with him.

Also, since there’s two wards here in Bragança, we’re living with another pair of missionaries! Elder S (americano) and Elder B (again!) are also in the house, and not going to lie — it’s pretty crazy putting 4 missionaries together. Way fun too though! I have a feeling I’m going to have an awesome experience here in Bragança.

So my goal was to make a good first impression in the Ala Alegre Ward here Sunday, (show that I want to help/work, that I’m at least semi-capable of speaking português, etc…). Not sure if I made a good one, but I know that I made at least some sort of impression, considering I helped teach Gospel Principles, led the music during sacrament meeting, and even gave a talk too! But I think it all went well – the Bishop seemed really happy and somewhat impressed. I’m super excited to work here, the members all seem really great and helpful. The ward isn’t too big, but hopefully over time that will change!

Well off to go figure out where to make purchases here in Bragança, then we’re planning on hiding in our house the rest of the day while all the drunk people and dangerous women are out on the street tonight… happy Carnaval! Have a fantastic week, love y’all!

Até mais,
Élder Scott Maughan

Leave a Reply

