Oww my arms… (and photos of the trip!)

Hey family!

I hope everyone has been having a great June! I agree with Mom, it really seems like it flew by. Congrats of the graduation Craig! I’m sure your speech went well, and Dad’s also! I like to brag about Dad to other missionaries here, and his ability to give speeches is one of the things I like to mention.

So if the other week was one of the craziest weeks of the mission, this last week was one of the most tiring! Are you sure it’s cooler here than in Bragança? It definitely feels hotter… I think it’s because the sun is much stronger here. Anyway, we’ve been pretty tired/sore all week, probably because of a couple service projects Elder Tavares and I have been doing.

On Tuesday we shoveled and spread sand for 2 hours (but in the end the sister we were helping made us juice of cupuaçu, which is really tasty and refreshing). Then Saturday we spent 3 hours helping new family in the ward pull some giant wooden pillars out of their concrete patio, and after we lugged ~1000 bricks from the front of the house to the back of their house. Wow! After not really doing too much manual labor in a long time, that was pretty fun! But needless to say, my biceps and fingers are still killing me. But that family was nice enough to give us lunch afterwards. The people here sure are generous! And they love to make food.

So Elder Tavares is really awesome! We get along really well, and we have a bunch of interests in common. He’s really smart, humble, and funny, and a hard worker too. We love to joke around, which actually seems to be helping my portuguese a ton! He was born in the church also, a second generation missionary in his family, and he’s the oldest of 5 kids. He’s 19 years old (he left for the mission with 18 years), and he’s a great example for me. I’ve already learned a lot from him, especially when it comes to teaching. So far it’s been a great transfer with him, and hopefully I’ll get to stay with him for a couple!

Well I hope everyone has a fantastic last week of June, love you all so much! Take care!

Com amor,
Élder Scott Maughan

Yep – it’s the Amazon!

12 hours on this boat at the end of Scott’s trip to Oriximiná.

On the boat trip on the Amazon. Scott wasn’t kidding when he said it’s a good thing that Brazilians don’t have a personal bubble!

Scott and Elder Tavares

Leave a Reply

