Now my room’s a whole lot cleaner

Supposedly these are for a service project next weekend??!!


Happy October! Hope everyone had a wonderful September. Sounds like everyone is keeping rather busy, that’s good to hear! It was great seeing pictures of Mom’s trip to Utah, and to see how Dave is doing. Also I didn’t know that Peter Maughan had such an important gravestone, that’s neat! A few weeks ago someone was giving a talk in church when he read the story in Our Legacy that talks about Peter Maughan, I think he was pretty excited when he made the connection that that weird English name is the same as my weird English name, haha.

Life is good here in Oriximiná! Yup we were able to have district meeting this week, we usually have district meeting every week. That means that we have to catch the boat every Wednesday night to Óbidos, then we come back to Oriximiná Thursday afternoon by motorboat. It usually ends up being a rather tiring trip (and a bit expensive) but everything works out well. It’s always fun seeing Elder Stacy and Elder Teles they are both funny, great guys. It’s been a month or two now since the last time I went to Santarém, and it looks like I’ll only be going there if Elder Rosa or I get transfered from here in 2 weeks. Maybe that’s why it’s so nice to see Elder Stacy and Elder Teles each week, because they are the only other missionaries that I see over a 3 month span, haha.

So we live in a nice cozy apartment, more or less in the middle of the city. As Mom guessed, we have washing machine but no dryer (no need, the sun here dries everything in 15 minutes), a stove but no oven or microwave, and a nice fridge. We usually try to keep everything pretty clean, since cleanliness invites the Spirit. Turns out I’m a tidier person than I thought I would be! Mom would be proud of me, especially after seeing how I kept my room for 4 years of high school haha. For some reason I really enjoy sweeping. Haha kinda strange, I know.

Who’s excited for Conference? I’ve probably got you all beat. Plus the Elderes from Óbidos will be spending the weekend here to watch Conference. I’m really looking forward to it. Well have a wonderful week and a great start to October, love you all! Take care!
Com amor,
Elder Scott Maughan

Cousin David with Melissa and Craig by the Peter Maughan monument in Logan.

One thought on “Now my room’s a whole lot cleaner

Leave a Reply

