They don’t like me. They just like Mom.

Querida família,

So transfers came and went, nothing is changing here! I’m excited about that; this will be my 4th transfer here, making it almost 6 months here in Oriximiná. I’ve gotten pretty attached to the members here, so it’s nice to have 6 more weeks here to help them out the best I can. And I’ll be staying with Elder Rosa also! But Elder Stacy is leaving Óbidos, which unfortunately means that after 10 months of being in the same district, Presidente is finally splitting us up.

So in behalf of the members here I also wanted to thank Mom for her help to strengthen the Oriximiná Ward! In an effort to excite and encourage the youth here, I ended up giving away just about all of the sweets that she had sent to them during activities, and that actually seems to have worked more or less well in encouraging the youth to participate in the ward activities. The DVDs are also helping to strengthen the ward! Elder Rosa and I have already been putting them to good use in ward activities and with the youth, and they’ve all been asking for copies of the DVDs, which we are happy to make. They  seemed happy that I’m staying for one more transfer, but I think that’s just because they are hoping that I receive another box like that again… haha.

Saturday night was the baptism of a youth man also! Iudice is the friend of the Deacon’s Quorum President and the grandson of a member who was inactive in the Church for 16 years… but he’s been baptized and his grandma is coming back to church! He’s an incredible learner (I definitely wasn’t that bright when I was 12), who really understood what the baptism meant and was eager to make that covenant. What a great feeling! He had tons of support at his baptism, especially from the young men in the ward, and his grandma is also getting a very warm welcome in the ward again.

Well does this make up for forgetting to send a large letter last week? Haha I hope so. Thanks so much for all the support and love, I really appreciate it. Have a wonderful week, love you all so much!

Sinceramente,
Élder Scott Maughan

Leave a Reply

