Yes It’s True, PB&J

Happy Eric’s Birthday! Happy Martin Luther King Jr Day also. It’s tough to decide which is more important, since these two holidays are equally celebrated here in Brazil.

Life is good here in Abaetetuba! Mom asked a little about the district and zone here, let me describe. There are 5 companionships in my district, and 7 in total in the zone Barcarena. There are 4 americans (including me), one companionship of Sisteres, and one missionary couple also! Elder e Sister M were actually in the CTM with me, so it’s been fun working with them here and getting to talk to them again (especially now that I can understand them!). They do all the same things that we do, the only difference is that they have a car, haha.

Abaetetuba is actually a branch, there are 3 branches here in the Barcarena District. But it’s growing! Yesterday the attendance was 105 actually, which is the highest it’s been here in Abaetetuba in a long while. We live with the other companionship (Elder O and Elder de O), but the apartment is plenty roomy enough for us 4. It’s also on the 3rd floor, so we get a nice view of the city (there aren’t too many 3-story buildings here). Also, that means I get to run up and down the stairs to get a good workout in each morning!

As for other exciting news this week, I gave an English class this week at the English private school of one of the young women in our branch! It was the first time I did that in an actually school, so I was a bit nervous. I was also nervous that I wouldn’t be able to speak English very well and I’d make a fool of myself in front of them… but it turned out really well! They seemed rather excited to speak with a (North) American, and they had a ton of questions about the culture and traditions, and they couldn’t quite comprehend the fact that I only ate a peanut butter and jelly sandwich at lunchtime. But I also got a chance to speak about the church and they seemed genuinely interested in that as well, so it was an all-around good time.

Well I love you all, have a wonderful week! Take care, até mais!
Elder Scott Maughan

Leave a Reply

