An Eagle Scout is Always Prepared

Dear Family,

Happy End of February to you also! Life here in Abaetetuba has been great. And yes it’s been noticeably hotter this past week, but that’s okay! On the bright side, we didn’t get as much rain, so it’s all good. [To check out the weather in Abaetetuba, where the RealFeel temp is usually over 100ºF, click on the header above (anything green will work) and see the temperature in the sidebar.]

Yup so as you already know Elder O was transferred (to Paar, my first area) and Elder D S came to Abaetetuba. You might actually already have a picture of him, he was in my district in Santarém also! He’s a really great missionary, with great ideas and a great attitude, so I know he’ll help out a ton with the Branch here. Elder R and I were also excited to have at least one more transfer together! The 4 of us get along great at home, so from the looks of it, this will be a rather successful and fun next few weeks.

I’m excited to be staying here, I’m really hoping I’ll be here when the new chapel is dedicated. It’s looking really beautiful, except I’m a photo slacker and I haven’t taken any photos… I’ll fix that this week. The members of the branch seem rather excited also! The attendance has been rising in the Sunday meetings, as well as activities during the week. Each Wednesday night there’s an integration night, with a short message and a game/activity afterwards. Usually we missionaries always end up doing at least one of those, but that’s alright, I enjoy it! I’ve learned that as a missionary, I always have to have a message prepared, a talk prepared, a game prepared, and a dvd in the bag. It keeps us on our toes!

Also got the 2 packages, thanks so much! So I was going to keep them closed until my birthday… but it only took about 2 hours for the ants to discover the boxes, and the only safe place where the ants don’t go is the fridge, so I had to open them to save the sweets. Also, the Brasil Post Service opened up the wrapped presents, (they took away my fun! haha jk) but I don’t think they took anything out.

Yup I’m still playing the keyboard at church, which has turned out to be one of the highlights of each week. Yesterday, a less active family that we’ve been teaching came to church, and I knew that the mom’s favorite hymn was “Sunshine in the Soul” so I made that our intermediate hymn. It was such a great feeling when I looked up during the hymn to see her standing and singing, she seemed very joyful. I could really feel the Spirit that way. Also, looks like we’re going to start piano lessons soon, since all the youth here have been asking to learn to play. So I’m looking forward to that too!

Well thanks again for the emails and the support, I love you all so much! Take care, until next month!

Com amor,
Elder Scott Maughan

Leave a Reply

