Elder Wonka

Four missionaries that share an apartment in Abaetetuba.

Four missionaries that share an apartment in Abaetetuba.

Querido família,

I hope everyone had a wonderful St. Patrick’s Day yesterday! Not that they celebrate this holiday here… and also I forgot to wear a green tie, but that’s okay. Instead I wore the purple one that Mom sent me for my birthday. Thanks for the birthday present! Made me feel like Willy Wonka the whole day.

I’ll be sure to thank the branch members for the birthday party for you! Actually maybe you’d be able to thank them yourself… since your last package, half the branch has been asking: when will your mom send more Peanut Butter M&Ms? Or Jelly Beans? Sister O also sent silicone CTR rings, which seemed to be a big hit. I think that the Brazilian members must really enjoy having American missionaries serving in their wards, haha.

Soo let me answer some of Mom’s questions. About the packing tips: nope the passport stays in the mission office. Unless you go to Santarém or Macapá, where it stays with the zone leaders. I just walk around with a xerox of the ID they gave me when I arrived here in Belém. Also, I liked the shoes that we brought! The heavier ones [Dansko Men’s Walker] I only use for conferences and special occasions. The lighter ones [2 pairs of mission shoe tracting deluxe] are comfortable and easy to use, but they definitely don’t last forever, especially not when walking in so much sun. Six months in Oriximiná more or less destroyed the first pair I had, leaving holes in soles and holes in the upper part, which seem to be the first impact the sun has on the shoes. But I think I could’ve avoided that if I had shined them more often with a shoeshine that treats the material and not just makes it shiny. About the shirts: I heard that there’s a type of shirt that is blueish that stays whiter longer? Either way, you’ll probably end up having to use plenty of Vanish to keep the shirts whiterish.

The dedication of the new church building will be the 20th and 21st of April! We are pretty anxious. But we are going to have transfers next week… I hope I’ll still be here! Presidente Scisci met with the branch leaders last week to formulate a good preparation plan. The week anterior will be the open house, we’re expecting lots of references and work these weeks. Each organization of the branch is in charge of giving a presentation about what they do, as part of the building tour. I think this week or this Saturday we’ll be able to enter and I’ll be sure to take pictures to give you the virtual tour as well.

Well I hope everyone has a wonderful week, thanks so much for the love and support! Until next Monday, take care!

Com amor,
Elder Maughan

Thanks for the birthday present! I've never had a purple tie before, I think it suits me pretty well. Here's one of the members of the ward who goes on splits with us often. our matching ties weren't planned but turned out pretty cool.

Thanks for the birthday present! I’ve never had a purple tie before, I think it suits me pretty well. Here’s one of the members of the ward who goes on splits with us often. our matching ties weren’t planned but turned out pretty cool.

The view of Abaetetuba from outside the apartment building.

The view of Abaetetuba from outside the apartment building.

Scott and his missionary companion, Elder R

Leave a Reply

