Next Week = Beach Week!

Bye, Abaetetuba! Yup, once again transfer week has arrived… and I’m on my way out of Abaetetuba. Tomorrow I’m going to Outeiro… do you think that’s on the map? Sounds like its a beach town! Well actually I’m already gone, since they informed me at 11:00 last night that I would leave 6:00 the next morning… and I still had to pack my things. Trying to be a hard working missionary on 4 hours of sleep just doesn’t fly, good thing today is P-day!

Yeah I’ll admit I would have very much liked to stay in Abaetetuba, especially to see the new church dedicated. Also I had become really attached with the members and other people here. And I was the only one of us 4 to be transferred. The members also seemed a little sad, probably in part because we were all set for me to play the piano at the dedication as well… but that’s alright, I’m sure that God has other greats plans for the branch members, and for me also.

Although I was initially a little disappointed, I soon became excited! I think I like change. Moving from Burnt Hills to Salem and then back to Burnt Hills probably helped lots with that. I don’t remember who said it (Melissa maybe?), but the mission is all about meeting people, changing their lives, and then leaving them behind. In Abaetetuba I met some great people from the branch, and I had the privilege to help teach and baptize some amazing people here also. At least I hope to see them again, in this life or the next!

I heard a saying I really liked this past week: “It’ll all work out in the end. If it didn’t work out, that’s because it’s not yet the end.”

Quick learning espiritual experience: I have a tradition of praying before each hymn I play on the piano in church. Yesterday, in the opening hymn, I forgot to pray. Didn’t turn out too pretty. Remembered that I hadn’t prayed. Prayed for forgiveness, humildade, and help with the other hymns. And the rest were great! 2 Nephi 32:9

Well have a great week! I’ll be sure to send lots of pictures of me hitting up the beaches in Outeiro this next week… just kidding! Unless we baptize on the beach, which would be awesome. But anyways, love you all, thanks for all the love and support! Take care!

Com amor,
Élder Maughan

Scott's transfer from Abaetetuba to Outeiro.

Scott’s transfer from Abaetetuba to Outeiro.

Leave a Reply

