Weddings bring blessing to everyone!

A flooded street where we were walking yesterday after a heavy rainstorm passed by. The whole street was like that! And the dog is a pretty typical sight here, there are tons of strays dogs everywhere.

A flooded street where we were walking yesterday after a heavy rainstorm passed by. The whole street was like that! And the dog is a pretty typical sight here, there are tons of strays dogs everywhere.

Dear family,

Congrats, Melissa and James! The pictures of the wedding and the graduation were fabulous, it’s great to see those happy faces, besides everyone also saying how happy you look together. Glad to hear that all went smoothly, and that it was a great weekend for everyone!

Scott's sister, Melissa, was married on Saturday. We missed Scott at the wedding, held in the Bountiful Temple, but he will be back from his mission in time for the reception in NY.

Scott’s sister, Melissa, was married on Saturday. We missed Scott at the wedding, held in the Bountiful Temple, but he will be back from his mission in time for the reception in NY.

And it was a good weekend for us here in Outeiro also! Especially starting with Friday. There’s a man that we’ve been teaching for a little while, who is super elect, he’s already reading D&C and everything and wants to be baptized. Unfortunately, he’s not legally married with his wife, and his wife doesn’t like us… or, I should say, she didn’t like us, but when we arrived there on Friday, she suddenly decided to sit down and listen (and not debate) with us, and in the end she agreed to come to church with us on Sunday, which she did! She told us that she had been thinking recently and realized that she had visited many churches but never felt really comfortable in any of them, and she felt that she should give the Church of Jesus Cristo a shot. And she seemed to enjoy church yesterday, which made us happy, and I think that her husband was the happiest of all of us! It’s great to see how people really can be prepared and changed. Now I’m even more fully convinced that angels are helping to prepare the way for the Church here in Outeiro.

Church also was great yesterday, lots of less-active members came, and we were able to bring lots of our investigators also! I was actually even surprised with the number of investigators that came (it’s not every week when you show up at 8:30 at an investigator’s house and she says “Let me just brush my hair real quick and we’ll go!”) and I think that the branch members were even more surprised than me! I guess it’s been a little while since there were visitors. But it was good to see the members exciting and interacting with the people we’ve been teaching, I’m hoping that we were able to win some more help and support from the member for that. So yeah, God blessed us tons this weekend! I think that I need more older siblings to get married while I’m here, that seems to be the secret…

Also, fun fact: we were looking through the area book this week and I found a lady who was taught in 2007 by an Elder Batty! Haha that was pretty exciting for me. I’m also starting to believe that it was here in Outeiro where he gained those 30 pounds… haha.

Well, I hope everyone has an incredible beginning of May! Love you all, thanks so much for everything you do for me. Until next week!

Com amor,
Elder Scott Maughan

A pic of Elder F and me with a pudding-ish dessert we got at zone conference.

A pic of Elder F and me with a pudding-ish dessert we got at zone conference.

Leave a Reply

