Picture Time

Brazil-Outeiro-78Here’s a picture of me and Elder Baldwin playing the piano at zone meeting! Someone wanted to sing “Com Braço Forte” (which I think is “God of our Fathers”?) but I don’t know how to play it, and neither did Elder Baldwin, and it wasn’t programmed in the piano, so we tag teamed that hymn. It was pretty sweet, with him on the right and me on the left. This is what a piano looks like in the newer church buildings. Lots of technology. Like I said, almost all the hymns already come pre-programmed, you just have to play any key on the beat. Pretty neat! I, unfortunately, never passed through an area that had one of these, haha.

Reminded me of what Jared and I used to do this in priesthood meeting! Also, the main reason I’m sending this picture is because now Elder Baldwin can be on the blog, hahaha.

Brazil-Outeiro-0137So yesterday was the birthday of the first conselour in the branch presidency, and he invited more or less the whole branch to eat lunch. He bought a huge pig (which we helped him to clean and gut a few days earlier!) and his wife made maniçoba, which is what I’m eating in the picture. Let me try to describe maniçoba: you take a bunch of leaves from a certain POISONOUS tree, you cook them for a week until the poison is gone, then you mix in a ton of other ingredients, including pig intestines, and you put in on your rice. I’ve been dying to experiment this one day, and it was worth the wait! Way more tasty that it sounds, let me promise you.

And the birthday party was actually a great missionary opportunidade also, because we were able to do lots of contacts with friends and family of his, and also we brought a few of our investigators. The mission presidente likes to speak about the importance of the “social conversion” as well as the “spiritual conversion” so we’re working on that too. And the members are great, they always greet our investigators and are nice to them also.
Leave a Reply

